Day 37 of 90 ”Snack Attack: A Snacking Super-Food”

image

 

If your anything like me you could always have a little snack. So what if I told you there was a snack that was cheap, easy to make, high in protein, high in fibre, relatively low in calories and comes in sweet and savoury varieties. You’d probably be interested, right?

Well there is such a snack and it’s called popcorn and today, my carb-loading day, I decided to make some (I stay low carbs all week but carbs are needed for muscle so I load up once a week between 2 big sessions and on rest/cardio day go without starchy carbs all together). It is pretty easy really, all you need is:

1. 30g of natural popcorn. I used a protein scope this makes a medium saucepan full.
2. Place it in a saucepan on medium heat with a little oil (I used olive oil).
3. When it starts to pop turn it on low and put the lid on.
4. Shake it about until finished.
5. It is now ready to eat and you can serve it plain or with some liquid honey (you can also add ground coconut, crushed nuts or cinnamon with the honey) or a little lemon and chilli. Just stick it in a plastic tub and shake in the ingredients.

image

nutritional value 100g [Asda’s popcorn]: 374 Kcal (I’m not a fan of calorie controlled diets you might want to limit your consumption) > 63.3 Carbs (0.9g of which is sugar) (again not good for no-carb diets, which I’d advise against) > 14.5g Fibre > 12.9 Protein

FOOD LOG (no food from 7pm till after workout)

Post-workout: all-in-one shake

Breakfast: porridge with banana, mixed seeds and goji berries followed with a poached egg.

Snack 1: popcorn with lemon and chilli

Snack 2: handful of walnuts and macadamia

Lunch: 2 pieces of mackerel with brown rice and salad

Snack 1: a peach and banana followed by mixed seeds

Snack 2: 2 pieces of dark rye wheat bread

Dinner: lean beef chilli with brown rice and salad

Snack 1: popcorn and honey

Snack 2handful of walnuts and macadamia

Evening Shake: whey and milk

Meal 4: oven-cooked beef with dark rye wheat bread and salad

Snack 1: grapefruit [I will be up most of the night writing an essay so I’ll bin the intermittent fasting tonight].

note: Having been on low carbs for a while had begun to make me feel a little lethargic at times (I normally limit my starchy carbs to oats post-workout but today I have had them for every meal and in a few snacks). My carb-load today though has got me feeling great, has cured my carb cravings, and has given my body plenty of healthy carbs to burn and to go towards muscle production.

Leave a Reply

