Day 46 of 90: Chest Workout

image

Although, I planned on posting the recipe for the turkey bits today I thought, since I had a conversation about this the other day, I would put up my chest workout.  While I am not saying this is the only way or even the best way to train chest hopefully it gives a little understanding of what a gym session, for me anyway, looks like. And might give someone somewhere some tips.

 

1

4 sets – 10 reps – 20 kg [plus bar weight an extra 20kg] (I normally start on 15kg to warm up but the bar was already loaded.  I managed 8/8/6/6 reps on this)

2

4 sets – 10 reps – 18/20/22/24 kg

3

4 sets – 10 reps – 11.5 kg (I prefer doing this than doing the dumbbell flys)

4

4 sets – 10 reps – 10/12.5/12.5/12.5 kg

5

4 sets – 25 reps

6

3 sets – to failure – 20 kg [inc bar weight]

 

This took about 50/55 mins and I did weighted uppercuts (4/6 kg dumbbells) instead of a rest period (just to keep the heart rate up and get me some pre-boxing training in) and I finished with 25 mins on the cross-trainer.

 

[all the gfx are from jefit which is a fantastic website/app for training] link

TODAY’S FOOD LOG (no food from 7pm till after workout)
Post-Workout: all-in-one shake
Breakfast: porridge with banana
Snack 1: turkey bits and a tablespoon of peanut butter
Snack 2: fruit salad with almonds and Greek yogurt
Dinner: tuna and egg salad with spicy prawns
Snack 1: spicy prawns
Snack 2: a white grapefruit
Dinner: soy shepherd’s pie (minus the mash potato) with broccoli and spinach
Snack 1: a tablespoon of peanut butter
Snack 2: some pineapple
Evening shake: whey shake

Note to self: Although, I plan on tracking my progress at 30 day intervals (so the next one is on day 60), the fat burning seems to have slowed down. I might be wrong but, if that is the case I will have to see if I need to tweak my food routine or my training or both. I need to aim at eliminating the peanut butter after lunch time, anyway, because it is calorie dense and might be actually working against my goal which is lean muscle.

Leave a Reply

