Day 48/49 of 90: 50 Winks – An Overlooked Component to Training

image

I admit it…I was unable to blog yesterday because I was exhausted. For some insane reason I got up at 0230 and then was unable to get back to sleep, so I spent the night reading. Not only did it leave me cranky (I hadn’t eaten since 7pm the night before and wasn’t going to eat again until after training mind), but my body was sore from the day before’s training, my training session was a bit crappy to say the least and most of the day was spent in a mental haze. Anyway it got me thinking on the effects of sleep deprivation on health and this is what I found.

On top of the aforementioned (that’s probably my biggest word, promise) sleep deprivation can lead to accidents, minor or major illness, a low sex drive (yikes), weight gain AND muscle loss (oops). You see when your asleep your mind not only gets much needed rest (though it is still active or you’d stop breathing, obviously!), but your body secretes the muscle-building hormone testosterone and also repairs the micro-tares you made during your weights session. Your probably thinking, oh man, how much sleep should I have then? Well Arnie only advocates sleeping 6 hours a day but he’s not human right?… So I try for 7 (I get up at 5am), have occasional naps (if really tired) and have one morning a week (on rest/cardio day) in which I don’t set the alarm and just get up naturally (though I hardly ever sleep past 7am). So remember if you want to get in shape you not only have to train like an beast, eat with the discipline of an athlete but you have to sleep like a princess.

YESTERDAY’S FOOD (no food from 7pm the day before till after training)
Post-Workout: all-in-one shake
Breakfast: porridge, banana and walnuts
Snack 1: a handful of walnuts
Snack 2: a kiwi
Lunch: fruit salad followed by a steak and egg salad
Snack 1: a tablespoon of peanut butter
Snack 2: grapefruit
Dinner: pan fried mackerel with sweet and sour vegetables (don’t use any sauce just garlic, ginger, chilli, lemon, a little soy and fresh pineapple)
Snack: beef pieces
Evening Shake’ whey

ToDAY’S FOOD (no food from 7pm the yesterday till after training)
Post-Workout: all-in-one shake
Breakfast: porridge, almonds and walnuts
Snack 1: a green apple
Snack 2: handful of walnuts
Lunch: fruit salad with a tuna salad
Snack 1: a tablespoon of peanut butter
Snack 2: a grapefruit
Snack 3: more peanut butter
Dinner: lean beef curry and salad
Evening Shake: whey

Note to self: my body seems to be getting used to the intermittent fasting as I am no longer hungry at night, however, I need to start the treadmill sprints back up (I’ve not done it this week as my knee has been sore – an old injury).

Leave a Reply

