Day 52 of 90: Dealing with Injuries

image

Anyone who has been training for any time will pick up occasional aches and pains, the DOMS (delayed onset of muscle soreness) and the odd injury. Since returning to training after a 5 or 6 year gap (9 if we’re talking about serious training) my most serious injury was a sprained wrist (thanks to boxercising) and what I think was a twisted knee (I never did get it checked out).

image

In fact, my knee still plays up now and again which is the reason that I was unable to do any cardio from Mon-Fri this week (it was slightly sore so I thought I’d rest it). Now whilst I’d encourage you to go to the doctor/hospital with major injuries, straight away, here’s what I’d advise, in regards to injuries:

1. DO NOT stop training: Ok, use some common sense. If your in a coma you might want to take some time off.  Nonetheless, having seen a guy in a wheelchair maxing out in the gym (he was in today, actually), kind of, makes me think that an injury is a poor excuse to stop training.

2. Adjust your training: As I wasn’t able to complete my treadmill sprints this week I did bodyweight exercises, some cross-training or boxing bag work instead. When I hurt my knee the first time, about 10 months ago, I could barely walk so I would swim (which felt great) and I began weight lifting but if I’ve got any issues I’ll go light or will work something that won’t exasperate my injury but I would never quit!!

3. Adjust your nutrition: If you are unable to train with the same intensity the same diet you were on whilst training hard will make you put on weight so you might want to cut it down a bit. However, you can also adjust your diet to promote healing. So if you have a ripped muscle you want to have a lot of protein in your diet, if it’s a back problem lose any excess weight and a broken bone will require more calcium in your diet (obviously if it’s your lungs you could give up the ciggys – just saying). Just remember to do some research and adjust accordingly.

4. Get your rest in: More sleep is needed to help encourage healing. Obviously that doesn’t mean 18 hours a day but you might want to have a few days when you get up naturally (without an alarm) and try and aim to get to bed at a decent hour.

5. Go see a doctor: If it is a major problem, if it is you’ll probably feel it, don’t just load yourself up with painkillers and deep heat and man’it out. The only reason I didn’t go to a doctor is because the pain began to naturally fade after a week or so.  Nonetheless, because I don’t want you to sue me (like your getting your greasy paws on my protein shakes or trainers) I’d say when in doubt have it checked out.

TODAY’S FOOD LOG (rest/cardio day)
Morning Shake: All-in-one shake
Breakfast: porridge with banana and mixed nuts
Snack 1 : 2 kiwis and a tablespoon of peanut butter
Snack 2: peach
Lunch: salmon omelette (spinach, peppers, chilli, onion, mushrooms and sun-dried tomato) with salad and hot line pickle

image

Post-Workout: all-in-one shake
Dinner: egg and salmon salad and hot lime pickle
Snack 1: apple and a tablespoon of peanut butter
Snack 2: tuna and egg salad with hot lime pickle and a hot glass of milk

Note to self: today was suppose to be my carb-free day but I forgot and had the porridge…There also seemed to be a lot of fish today, well it was a clean day, I need to mix it up to make sure I’m getting a whole range of nutrients.

Leave a Reply

