Day 60/61 of 90: Results Day – Losing Muscle ;-(

image

When I began this 90 day log I was training twice a day (at least for the first couple of weeks) and so I thought that the initial gains I made on day 30 were going to be bigger than the gains I made yesterday but what I was surprised to find was that I, in fact, made losses.

Height: 5ft 7in

Day: 1
Weight: 11st 9.6lb
Body Fat: 24.6%
Muscle Weight: 8st 5lbs
Metabolic Age: 48

Day: 30
Weight: 11.2 st
Body fat: 15.4%
Water weight: 57.2%
Muscle: 9 st
Metabolic age: 23

Day: 60
Weight: 10.13 st
Body fat: 20.6%
Water weight: 55.8%
Muscle: 8.3 st
Metabolic age: 36

This got me thinking, so I did the assessment again today and it confirmed it. Anyway, it turns out that the reading I got on day 30 was completely wrong (as in the only thing they got right seems to be my height) because there is no way I could have made those losses. This means that I have longer to go than I thought but it also serves to remind me to have two assessments consecutively so that I can get a better understanding of my progress and to save errors occurring.

It was useful though, speaking to the instructor about how I might increase my progress and stop dropping muscle weight. Here’s what they told me:

1. Firstly, I need to rest more. I have been skipping between sets and whilst this is good for burning fat the accumulated effect of this may be negating my body’s ability to build muscle.

2. Secondly, I need to sleep more. I normally get up at 5am and am now trying to get to bed earlier and get up at 5.30am.

3. The third thing I was encouraged to do was to increase my protein intake. Instead of snacking on so much fruit I’m going to go for more lean protein sources.

Now, I can’t pretend that I wasn’t disappointed that I’m not making as much progress as I thought (and that the reading on day 30 was useless) but, at least, I’m moving in the right direction and while losing fat and building muscle is difficult I’m going to continue experimenting till I find something that works.

YESTERDAY’S FOOD LOG (no food from 7pm yesterday till after training)
Post-Workout: all-in-one shake
Breakfast: porridge, banana and mixed nuts
Snack 1: a tablespoon of peanut butter
Snack 2: handful of organic dates
Lunch: chicken breast, broccoli, mushroom, tomato and cottage cheese
Snack 1: a nectarine
Snack 2: half a chicken breast with cottage cheese and a handful of organic dates.
Dinner: lean beef chilli
Smoothie: melon, mango, banana and date
Snack: poached egg with tomato and chilli pickle followed by a tablespoon of peanut butter.
Evening Shake: whey protein

TODAY’S FOOD LOG
Post-workout: all-in-one shake
Breakfast: porridge, dates and mixed nuts
Snack: a tablespoon of peanut butter
Lunch: chicken breast, cottage cheese, mushroom and broccoli
Snack 1: half a chicken breast and tomatoes
Snack 2: nectarine
Dinner: chicken in tomato and coriander sauce with salad
Smoothie: kiwi, raspberry, banana and strawberry
Snack: some dates and peanut butter.
Evening shake: whey protein

One thought on “Day 60/61 of 90: Results Day – Losing Muscle ;-(

  1. Your doing really well with your 90 day challenge. Love you. Xxx

Leave a Reply

