Day 81 of 90: Bulking Up Before Going Lean

image

Since I have been training every day for over 80 days I have decided to go for a phase of bulking before doing a drastic cut for my last 7 days (begins on day 84). This means that today and over the next few days I am going into caloric overload – also on known as bulking.

The reason for this is because the body adapts itself quite quickly to food consumption patterns and training demands resulting in the dreaded plateau. The caloric surplus will also enable me to build muscle and will give me a few extra pounds of weight to see me through the cut, in theory this should enable me to shed body fat and not muscle and stop me looking like Karen Carpenter by the time I’m finished. So here’s what I’m planning to do:

1. Up my Food Intake Considerably: I’ve already begun by having 2 breakfasts (pre and post workout) but while I would normally limit my carbs to a Friday (my carb-loading day) I’ll be having them throughout the bulk (nonetheless, I still endeavour to eat clean’ish but it will not be a major concern).

2. Cut Down on the Cardio: Although, I will still use Sunday (tommorow) as a cardio day I will aim to do no cardio on any of the other days.

3. Increase my Protein Shakes: I’ve gone from 2 to 3 a day, during the cut, I will not be having any shake at all.

4. Sleep More: Sleep is one of the most important things needed to build muscle and therefore, is a must for bulking (I normally get about 6/7 hours). Ever wonder why lions are ripped; loads of protein and loads of sleep (most of the time the lioness even does all the hunting, just saying).

FOOD LOG
Snack: banana
Breakfast: a bowl of muesli and some yogurt, honey, cinnamon and mixed nuts
Morning Shake: whey
Snack 1: spinach and sun-dried tomato omelette
Snack 2: tablespoon of peanut butter and an apple
Snack 3: half a chorizo sausage
Lunch: noodles with spicy Korean chicken and Korean wings (top right of picture)
Snack: dried red dates

image

Shake: whey
Post-Workout: all-in-one
Dinner: homemade pepperoni pizza with salad
Smoothie: pineapple and red berry

image

Snack 1: a banana
Snack 2: peanut butter

One thought on “Day 81 of 90: Bulking Up Before Going Lean

  1. Dinner looks delicious! X x x x x x x

Leave a Reply

